NCAAF: Louisville to retire Lamar Jackson’s No. 8 jersey


Share post:

Louisville will retire quarterback Lamar Jackson’s No. 8 jersey number during a ceremony at the Cardinals’ home game against Syracuse on Nov. 13.

Jackson will join fellow quarterback Johnny Unitas as the lone Louisville players to have their numbers retired. Unitas’ No. 16 was retired by the school in 2003.

Louisville surprised Jackson by informing him of the school’s decision with a video announcement on Friday.

“I (thought) I was gonna come down here and do an interview,” Jackson said after hearing the news. “(I thought) I’m comin’ down here to talk to my people from the ‘Ville. That was dope, man. That was crazy.

“I feel like I won the Heisman again.”

Jackson became the youngest player to win the Heisman Trophy in 2016. He also was a finalist for the award the following year.

In his three years with the Cardinals, Jackson passed for 9,043 yards and 69 touchdowns while adding 4,132 yards and 50 scores on the ground.

Jackson was selected by the Baltimore Ravens with the 32nd overall pick in the 2018 NFL Draft. He went on to win the NFL’s MVP award after his second season.

“Lamar earned the Heisman and then the NFL MVP, and he’s not even 25 years old,” said Vince Tyra, Louisville vice president/director of athletics. “Even more remarkable, he’s only getting better. He was born shortly before Tom Brady entered the league so has the time to go beyond anything we’ve seen before. His humble heart and grounded approach endear him to his teammates, his coaches and any staff he’s ever been around. He knows it takes 11 to be successful on offense, not one. We’re so proud to retire his No. 8 for what he has accomplished so far but are equally excited about what’s to come. This city has big L’s up for our guy.”

Wide receiver Tyler Harrell and defensive lineman Henry Bryant currently wear the No. 8 for Louisville this season. They will be allowed to finish the season with that jersey number before it will be retired at the end of the year.

–Field Level Media


Related articles

NCAAF: Alabama honors retired coach with Nick Saban Field at Bryant-Denny Stadium

Alabama approved naming its football field at Bryant-Denny Stadium in September, when Nick Saban Field will be formally...

NCAAF: Utah State officially fires coach Blake Anderson

Utah State announced Thursday it has officially fired football coach Blake Anderson, two weeks after giving him notice...

NCAAF: Arkansas’ Sam Pittman explains Bobby Petrino hire: ‘I want to win’

Bobby Petrino wasn't in the room in Dallas, but the offensive coordinator's return to the Arkansas Razorbacks was...

NCAAF: Reports: Alabama to name Bryant-Denny Stadium field after Nick Saban

Alabama will honor retired football coach Nick Saban by naming the field at Bryant-Denny Stadium after him, media...


Get the most important breaking news and analyses for Free.

Thank you for subscribing

Something went wrong.