NCAABBL: 10 SEC teams earn berths in NCAA tournament


Share post:

The Southeastern Conference landed 10 teams in the field of 64 in the NCAA Division I baseball championship, announced Monday.

Of the 10, eight SEC teams were among the top 16 seeds and will host regional tournaments. They are Florida (44-14), Arkansas (41-16), LSU (43-15), Vanderbilt (41-18), Kentucky (36-18), Auburn (34-21-1), South Carolina (39-19) and Alabama (40-19).

The other eight top seeds and hosts are Wake Forest (47-10), Clemson (43-17), Virginia (45-12), Stanford (38-16), Miami (FL) (40-19), Coastal Carolina (39-19), Oklahoma State (41-18) and Indiana State (42-15).

The Atlantic Coast Conference will be represented by eight teams in the field, followed by the Big 12 (six), Pac-12 (five), Sun Belt (four) and Big Ten (three) among the top conferences.

This is the 17th straight tournament appearance for Vanderbilt, which is the longest active streak in the nation.

Regional play begins Friday. The eight super-regional hosts will be announced June 6, with play in the College World Series scheduled to start June 16 in Omaha, Neb.

–Field Level Media


Related articles

MLB: D-backs activate LHP Jordan Montgomery for Tuesday start

Arizona Diamondbacks left-hander Jordan Montgomery was activated from the 15-day injured list and will start Tuesday night against...

MLB: Teoscar Hernandez, Dodgers look to flex muscles vs. Giants

It has been a stretch to remember for Teoscar Hernandez, and the Los Angeles Dodgers' power hitter will...

MLB: Astros, Athletics each looking for more from their first basemen

The spotlight will be on first base when the Houston Astros and host Oakland Athletics continue their three-game...

MLB: Ty Blach rejoins Rockies’ rotation to face Red Sox

The Boston Red Sox dug themselves out of a hole in June to get back into the postseason...


Get the most important breaking news and analyses for Free.

Thank you for subscribing

Something went wrong.