CFL: Argonauts squeak by Blue Bombers, win 18th Grey Cup

A.J. Ouellette rushed for a 5-yard touchdown with 3:55 remaining to lead the Toronto Argonauts to a narrow 24-23 victory over the Winnipeg Blue Bombers on Sunday in the Grey Cup in Regina, Saskatchewan.

It was Toronto’s 18th Grey Cup title, which is the most in CFL history. McLeod Bethel-Thompson completed 15 of 28 passes for 203 yards for the Argonauts, while Cameron Phillips hauled in five catches for 96 yards. Ouellette finished with 24 yards and a pair of scores on six carries.

Zach Collaros threw for 183 yards and an interception on 14-for-23 passing for Winnipeg, which was making its 27th championship appearance. Brady Oliveira rushed for 82 yards on 15 carries, and Dakota Prukop found the end zone twice on the ground.

The Blue Bombers took a 23-14 lead at the beginning of the fourth when Janarion Grant returned a punt 102 yards for a TD, marking the longest punt return in Grey Cup history. But Boris Bede kicked a 36-field goal to pull Toronto within six and converted the extra point following Ouellette’s game-winning score to ultimately give the Argonauts the league crown.

–Field Level Media

Check FREE Sports Scores and Bets a Division of


Get the most important breaking news and analyses for Free.

Thank you for subscribing

Something went wrong.